What’s in a name?


I figured it would be appropriate to have my first post explain my name… and by my name, I don’t mean Jillian.

I originally wanted to name my blog “Hakuna Matata” but when I passed that idea by a friend she said, “You can’t have a name that means “no worries”, you’re a Type A”. And so we came up with “Miss Type A”.

I’ve always been a Type A. My dad is and so am I. I love to do anything and everything, but to do that I like schedules. Whether I have a day filled with work and school and organized activity or I’m spending at day at home doing nothing I always have a schedule in my head. And what happens when that schedule doesn’t workout? Lets just say I am not a happy camper.

I’m a planner. I am always the one making the plans with friends and figuring out logistics. It drives my crazy when friends play everything by ear. If I am doing a city trip I know what trains I’m taking there and back two days ahead of time. I am always thinking weeks in advance instead of in the moment.

I like to be in control and when I am in control of a situation everything will be fine. But when I lose control over a situation I freak out! I get anxiety on the bus when the traffic is causing the trip to take longer than usual; I get anxiety when someone’s in front of me on line at a store and they are taking too long.

I am also a perfectionist. When it comes to working in groups I will rather do all the work by myself to make it perfect, or if not perfect the best it can be, than step back and let other people complete the work.

I would like to clarify that Type A doesn’t mean I like science and math but hate the arts. For me it’s actually the opposite. I am not that interested in science, but I love the arts. I love expressing myself through photography and have grown up with a love for theatre and music.  Just because my personality may be type A does not mean my interests are too.

I do realize that being Type A can sometimes be a fault. My friends tell me I need to be more spontaneous and just let things play out and my family tells me I need to relax and not get worked up when things don’t workout the way I planned them. I do attempt to fix these and am learning to take things as they come, but like everything this is a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

